The Mill House, situated in one of Melbourne CBD’s most historically significant sites on Flinders Lane – Tomasetti House – opened its doors on Friday 28 August as a sizeable and vibrant bar, with small bar hospitality.
Gastrology recently attended the launch of The Mill House where we enjoyed boutique beers, imaginative concoctions, and delicious food.
The Mill House concept and interior is a tongue-in-cheek tribute to Charles and William Degraves, thetwo Melbourne brothers who constructed Tomasetti House in 1851, originally to house a steam flourmill, boiler, and stables. The family name is associated with a rich history full of scandal and deceit, as well as feats of great "industrialism".
The entertainment during the night was a tribute to this rich history...
Internal features such as brass finishes, bluestone walls, and recycled beech wood all combine to deliver an eclectic venue like nothing else in Melbourne.
Quirky Victorian detailing will surprise and intrigue, including a ‘cabinet of curiosities’ stocked full of original or repurposed medicinal and historical artifacts. A brainteaser pictogram wall depicts the story of the Degraves family history merging with The Mill House, and cheeky nudes add a splash of debauchery to the restrooms.
The Mill House’s unique drinks offering include moonshine spirits imported exclusively for The Mill House by boutique drink specialists Artisan Handcrafted. We enjoyed sampling the moonshine which came in multiple flavours, including Apple Pie, Blackberry, and spicy Firecracker.
The Mill House share-style food offering, described as a hop, skip and jump between nations, was available to keep guests hunger pangs at bay. The menu includes chicken ribs with pisco syrup and green onion; smoked pork belly with cous cous and Malbec jus; prawn and chorizo with peas, red pepper coulis and chilli; and a selection of pizzas.
Image credits: Lucas Dawson
Location: 277-279 Flinders Lane, Melbourne VIC 3000
Phone: (03) 9662 4002